Fax Software

Community Forums

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi All,
    I am a VB developer and have been charged with creating a program which will send and recieve faxes automatically. The sending is to be based on the contents of a database table and the receiving is also to be handled by the application and if possible the incoming fax details to be also stored.
    I am not familiar with the Winfax Component and was wondering if one of you could asnwer the following questions :

Is what I have been asked to do possible using Winfax?
    I have Winfax Version 8.03 on my development machine, is it necessary to upgrade to Version 10?
    The SDKSend VB sample from Symantec works fine on my machine – Would this be a good basis for my project?
    Is there anything I should know or thoughts that spring to mind in relation to this project?
    Are there any links or samples which closely relate to what I wish to achieve?

I have read through a number of the posts already but cant find answers to the above questions. I would really appreciate any help you might be able to give me.

Regards Kenneth

Anonymous

processing incoming faxes is a little more difficult, depending on what you need to do. However, sending faxes is much easier.
    Also , WinFax PRO 8.03 is not acceptable for sending faxes due to Y2K related problems. You’ll need at least version WinFax PRO 9.03 , TalkWorks PRO 3.0 or WinFax PRO 10.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Thanks for the reply, I will get the upgrade.

For incoming faxes I need to access and store information such as the senders number, subject etc. I cant clearly tell from the documentation how to do this. I have noticed the sendEventObj_ReceivedEvent in the SDKEvents sample, but it only seems to allow access to the entryID, you say that its a little more difficult, how would one start to go about it?

Thanks
    Kenneth

Anonymous