Fax Software

Community Forums

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    geargirl

My apologies if this topic has come up here before, I just discovered this forum and want to see if there is any solutions for this (common) situation.
    I am a support tech, I support about 8 clients using Win2k client computers utilizing Winfax 10.02 fax sharing. The “server” is a Windows 95 machine with Winfax 10.02 set for fax host. They have been working fine for a while, everyone is using Winfax 10.02. My problem started when a new employee jumped on board with an XP sp2 OS machine. He gets the infamous message “Winfax pro fax sharing client: Winfax Pro is unable to connect to the Winfax Pro hoststation.Make sure an account has been created for you on the host station.
    From the many articles I’ve been reading I’m thinking there is no hope in the XP machine being able to use Winfax.
    Any suggestions? thx

JohnD
    Participant

Do the following on the Windows XP SP2 machine only.

1: To ensure that the Windows Firewall is enabled

At the Windows XP SP2 computer, log on as a user with Administrative privileges.

From the Start menu, click Settings > Control Panel.

If using the Classic View, double-click Windows Firewall.
    Otherwise, click Security Center and then, in the “Manage security settings for:” section, click Windows Firewall.

Select On (recommended).

Section 2: To add the WinFax Controller program to the Windows Firewall Exceptions list.

On the Exceptions tab, click Add Program.

Select Controller.
    The “Path:” box displays a path that ends in Wfxctl32.exe.

If the host and client are on the same network (subnet), click Change scope and select My network (subnet) only.
    Click OK, and then click OK again.

In the Programs and Services list, ensure that the box next to Controller is selected.

Click OK, and close the Windows Control Panel.