Fax Software

Community Forums

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    thomas64

Hi experienced users,

I’m new to using Winfax (10.03/10.04) an I found reading this forum very useful.
    So I’ve installed the version 10.03 on my faxsharing host (on a Windows 2000 Server, SP4) an put 10.04 (Patch) on the Windows XP (SP2) Client machines (2). All works fine, als long as someone is logged on on the server, because there is (seems to be) no way to start the winfax-controller (found in systemtray when logged on) without Logon on the server machine.
    I find that it is typical for a server machine, that a client can use services without someone is logged on the server, just like having access to the database engine, or something like that.
    Is there a way to use faxsharing like that?

regards
    Thomas64

Anonymous

Yes you are correct. In order for Fax Sharing to work, you need to have the WinFax Controller active (wfxctl32.exe)
    The component is not active when you are logged off. So, you have to be logged in (and Controller active) to use Fax Sharing.

WinFax can still receive faxes when logged off providing you’ve turned on this option and the WinFax Service is active (if your running Windows NT/XP/2000)

The WinFax PRO NT/2000/XP service allows you to receive incoming faxes or voice messages (with TalkWorks) and schedule faxes to be sent when you are logged out of Windows NT. You do not need this service to use WinFax/TalkWorks when you are logged onto Windows .

By default, the Setup program installs the Windows service when it detects you are using Windows NT 4.0/2000/XP. This service loads automatically whenever you start Windows.

If you have power-user or administrative privileges, you can start or stop the service from the Windows Control Panel if necessary.

To use the Windows service, you must:

load the Windows service (loads automatically when you start Windows NT/2000/XP)